Freitag, 1. Juni 2007

East Cape

Yessss, delayed for one day and baked bread in Gisborne. In return I got great dinner and yummy pudding the next day. What else could you want: Both (Michelle and Dylan) are chefs.

Leaving Gisborne far too late on Tuesday I drove past some nice beaches (Ok, the sun's up but it's winter - I won't go swimming anyway), saw the 'Whale Rider Maori Village', walked along 660m-long Tolaga Bay wharf and climbed a bit of the Cooks Cove Walkway. Sun is just setting too early in winter and I wasn't keen on joining the sheep in the dark. Slept in Tokomaru Bay (or however that place is called).

The next day I wanted to make my way up to the most eastern point where there is a lighthouse. Actually I wanted to see the sunrise there and the day before see the sunrise from a mountain. But the sun set too fast so I didn't quite make it... Ok, so skip the mountain and go straight to the lighthouse - at least that was the plan. Buuuut... What happens if AnnA gets to spontaneous?! Well, she climbs a mountain instead of a lighthouse. And the difference is almost insignificant. ;) Forget the lighthouse I thought. When do you've got the chance to climb the tallest non-volcanic mountain of the North Island AND see the sunrise... AND do it all on your own. Because I was on my own, alone, in the wilderness. ;)
I bought a ticket for the hut and made my way to the car park. A 30km detour!! After I packed my backpack I saw the sign telling the energetic tramper about walking times. To the hut: 4 - 7 hours. Oooooops! This guy I got the hut ticket from said 3 hours. And to be honest regarding the time of sunset I only had about 3 hours left. Happens if you're traveling and have a tight schedule. =) So I took of...

-to be continued-
Niklas (Gast) - 1. Jun, 10:58

oh iI whish I was there. I think i would've reacted the same way climbing up the mountain. And then the sunrise... That sounds very romantic... I'm jealous.

Stefan (Gast) - 1. Jun, 17:19

This break in you're story is very nasty. Just at the most exiting point you retired! Guess there will follow such a typical Anna-action ... took of all my package and run up the mountain to reach the goal in just time.

Oh, it's very hard to write enlisch for the first time since the abitur ...

Aktuelle Beiträge

Ja, wir Mütter
Hallo Anna, schöne Grüße nach "unten". Was Du beschreibst,...
Kerstin (Gast) - 20. Jul, 19:42
Eventually she arrived...
Eventually she arrived =)
Manuel (Gast) - 28. Jun, 10:10
Das ist wahrlich ein...
Das ist wahrlich ein gutes Werk :). Darfst mich auch...
Niklas (Gast) - 27. Jun, 16:33
hallooooo
hallooooo
Hanna (Gast) - 26. Jun, 19:28
= )
= )
Stefan (Gast) - 25. Jun, 18:42

Status

Online seit 6490 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 4. Dez, 00:22

Archiv

Juni 2007
Mo
Di
Mi
Do
Fr
Sa
So
 
 
 
 
 2 
 4 
 5 
 7 
 8 
11
12
15
16
17
22
24
26
27
28
29
30
 
 
 

>> Links
00 Home
01 Singapore
02 New Zealand - North
03 New Zealand - South
04 Sydney
05 Bangkok
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren